• The Hub
  • 2021 Learning Environments Australasia Awards

2021 Learning Environments Australasia Awards

  • 08 February 2021
  • 9:00 AM
  • 24 March 2021
  • 5:30 PM
  • Awards announced at the LEA Annual Conference: BEYOND!


(depends on selected options)

Base fee:
  • Please register here for your overall entry. You will be able to select categories, input project details and pay the entry fees by following the instructions.

Registration is closed

Image:  John Paul College Kindergarten - Extension/New Building by Deicke Richards Architects 

2020 LEA Awards Joint Overall Winner and Winner of Category 6 - Small Projects Under AU$2 Million

2021 Learning Environments Australasia Awards

As a leader in the field of educational facilities, Learning Environments Australasia (LEA) invites you to make submissions for the 2021 Learning Environments Australasia Awards.

These Awards are open to registered LEA members whose educational facilities projects demonstrate excellence in the planning and design of educational facilities across the Australasia region.

The core mission of the awards is to celebrate excellent learning spaces where innovative architectural ideas support the education philosophy.

The Award winners will be announced at the regional conference dinner in Brisbane (7pm - 11pm) on Wednesday 30 June, in the following 8 categories:

Category 1: New Construction / Entire New Educational Facility. This category applies to construction of an entire new school or educational institution.

Category 2: New Construction / New Individual Facility(ies) Over $8 Million (AU) This category applies to a new building or new buildings in an existing school or campus.

Category 3: New Construction / New Individual Facility(ies) Under $8 Million (AU).  This category applies to a new building or new buildings in an existing school or campus.

Category 4: Renovation / Modernisation Over $5 Million (AU)

Category 5: Renovation / Modernisation Under $5 Million (AU)

Category 6: Small Project Under $2 Million (AU). May be a new building or renovation, must be a learning environment.

Category 7: Landscaping/Outdoor Learning Area.  Designed to showcase outdoor learning environments targeted to improving educational outcomes. 

Category 8: An Innovative Education Initiative. Designed to showcase significant contributions to learning environments by schools, educators, students, designers, community organisations etc. Education Initiative must have been delivered to students for at least 6 months, since before 1st September, 2020.

All entries must have been occupied for at least 6 months (that is: before 1st  October, 2020) and construction completed within the last 3 years to qualify for entry.


NOMINATION + PAYMENT OPENS:     Monday 8 February, 2021 9am  (AEST)


ENTRY SUBMISSION (via Awardforce)

SUBMISSIONS OPEN:  Monday 15 February, 2021  9am (AEST)

SUBMISSIONS CLOSE:   Friday 26 March, 2021 11pm  (AEST)- (no extensions)


Wednesday 30 June at 7pm as part of the 2020 LEA Annual Conference 

BEYOND! Connecting in a changing world

Please complete the following process to enter:


Nominate your project via https://learningenvironments.wildapricot.org/event-4037600

A nomination fee of $400 AUD + GST per submission, will be charged.

Payment can be made by EFT or credit card (NZ & Singapore members please pay by credit card).

PAYMENT OR WITHDRAWAL: Must be received by 5pm Friday 19 March, 2021.

Projects withdrawn between nomination and submission closing will receive a 50% refund only. No refund will be available after the submission closing date on 26 March, 2021.


Once your project is nominated, entrants can and should start uploading their submissions to the Awards Portal from Monday 15 February, 2021   https://learningenvironments.awardsplatform.com/

If you have previously entered a project into any of the 2020 LE Chapter awards (VIC, NZ, QLD, NSW & WA), you will be able to copy and edit your entry into the 2021 LEA awards. More details on how to do this are described on the Awardforce portal. Please ensure you are using the correct email address to login to Awardforce as this will be linked to the entry.

Please download : 2021 LEA AWARDS Information for Entrants.pdf

This document will guide you through the submission process.

Note: the nomination and payment website (Learning Environments Australasia) is different to the awards submission/entry website (Awardsforce/Awardsplatform). 

For any questions please contact: 

Soraya Ramsey

Awards Co-ordinator


sponsored by:


Image below: Carlton Learning Precinct by Law Architects

2020 LEA Awards Joint Overall Winner and Winner of Category 4: Renovation/Modernisation Over AU$5m

© Learning Environments Australasia