• The Hub
  • 2020 LEA Regional Educational and Facilities Awards

2020 LEA Regional Educational and Facilities Awards

  • 06 January 2020
  • 9:00 AM
  • 21 February 2020
  • 11:05 PM


(depends on selected options)

Base fee:
  • Please register here for your overall entry. You will be able to select categories, input project details and pay the entry fees by following the instructions.

Registration is closed

As a leader in the field of educational facilities, Learning Environments Australasia (LEA) invites you to make submissions for the 2020 Learning Environments Australasia Awards.

These Awards are open to registered LEA members whose educational facilities projects demonstrate excellence in the planning and design of educational facilities across the Australasia region.

The core mission of the awards is to celebrate excellent learning spaces where innovative architectural ideas support the education philosophy.

The Award winners will be announced at the regional conference dinner on Thursday 14 May in Christchurch (7pm - 11pm) in the following 8 categories:

Category 1: New Construction / Entire New Educational Facility. This category applies to construction of an entire new school or educational institution.

Category 2: New Construction / New Individual Facility(ies) Over $8 Million (AU) This category applies to a new building or new buildings in an existing school or campus.

Category 3: New Construction / New Individual Facility(ies) Under $8 Million (AU).  This category applies to a new building or new buildings in an existing school or campus.

Category 4: Renovation / Modernisation Over $5 Million (AU)

Category 5: Renovation / Modernisation Under $5 Million (AU)

Category 6: Small Project Under $2 Million (AU). May be a new building or renovation, must be a learning environment.

Category 7: Landscaping/Outdoor Learning Area.  Designed to showcase outdoor learning environments targeted to improving educational outcomes. 

Category 8: An Innovative Education Initiative. Designed to showcase significant contributions to learning environments by schools, educators, students, designers, community organisations etc. Education Initiative must have been delivered to students for at least 6 months, since before 1st September, 2020.

All entries must have been occupied for at least 6 months (that is: before 1st September, 2019) and construction completed within the last 3 years to qualify for entry.


NOMINATION + PAYMENT OPENS:     Monday 6 January, 2020 9am  (AEST)

NOMINATION + PAYMENT CLOSES:    Friday 14 February, 2020 11pm (AEST)

ENTRY SUBMISSION (via Awardforce)

SUBMISSION PORTAL OPENS:  Monday 13 January, 2020  9am (AEST)

SUBMISSIONS PORTAL CLOSES:   Friday 21 February, 2020 11pm  (AEST)- (no extensions)

AWARDS CEREMONY:       Thursday 14 May, at 7pm Christchurch Art Gallery

as part of the 2020 LEA Annual Conference re:ACTIVATE


Nominate your project via https://learningenvironments.wildapricot.org/event-3644724

A nomination fee of $400 AUD + GST per submission, will be charged.

Payment can be made by EFT or credit card (NZ & Singapore members please pay by credit card).

PAYMENT OR WITHDRAWAL: Must be received by COB Friday 14 February, 2020.

Projects withdrawn between nomination and submission closing will receive a 50% refund only. No refund will be available after the submission closing date on 21 February, 2020.

2.      SUBMISSION (Step 2)

Once your project is nominated, entrants can and should start uploading their submissions to the Awards Portal from Monday 13 January, 2020 https://learningenvironments.awardsplatform.com/

If you have previously entered a project into any of the 2019 LE Chapter awards (SA, NT, QLD, WA or NSW), you will be able to copy and edit your entry into the 2020 LEA awards. More details on how to do this are described on the Awardforce portal. Please ensure you are using the correct email address to login to Awardforce as this will be linked to the entry.

Download Information for Entrant document  This document will guide you through the submission process.

Questions: Please contact Awards Co-ordinator - Soraya Ramsey award@a4le.org.au

Image : 2019 LEA Overall Winner - South Melbourne Primary School - Hayball.

Photographer - Dianna Snape

© Learning Environments Australasia