• The Hub
  • 2022 Learning Environments Australasia Awards

2022 Learning Environments Australasia Awards

  • 06 December 2021
  • 9:00 AM
  • 29 March 2022
  • 8:00 PM
  • Nominate and enter your project/s into the 2022 LEA Awards - Awards will be announced at the 2022 LEA Annual Conference and Awards Dinner on Thursday 9 June, 2022 in Adelaide, South Australia


(depends on selected options)

Base fee:
  • Please register here for your overall entry. You will be able to select categories, input project details and pay the entry fees by following the instructions.

Registration is closed

Image:  Lepperton School and Community Hall Redevelopment (New Zealand) by Robertson Hidzir Architects 

2021 LEA Awards Overall Winner; Photo by Paul McCredie


- now open -

As a leader in the field of educational facilities, Learning Environments Australasia (LEA) invites you to make submissions for the 2022 Learning Environments Australasia Awards.

These Awards are open to registered LEA members whose educational facilities projects demonstrate excellence in the planning and design of educational facilities across the Australasia region.

The core mission of the awards is to celebrate excellent learning spaces where innovative architectural ideas support the education philosophy.

The Award winners will be announced on Thursday 9 June, 2022 at the 2022 LEA Conference Dinner in Adelaide, in the following 8 categories:

Category 1: New Construction / Entire New Educational Facility. This category applies to construction of an entire new school or educational institution.

Category 2: New Construction / New Individual Facility(ies) Over $8 Million (AU) This category applies to a new building or new buildings in an existing school or campus.

Category 3: New Construction / New Individual Facility(ies) Under $8 Million (AU).  This category applies to a new building or new buildings in an existing school or campus.

Category 4: Renovation / Modernisation Over $5 Million (AU)

Category 5: Renovation / Modernisation Under $5 Million (AU)

Category 6: Small Project Under $2 Million (AU). May be a new building or renovation, must be a learning environment.

Category 7: Landscaping/Outdoor Learning Area.  Designed to showcase outdoor learning environments targeted to improving educational outcomes. 

Category 8: An Innovative Education Initiative. Designed to showcase significant contributions to learning environments by schools, educators, students, designers, community organisations etc. Education Initiative must have been delivered to students for at least 6 months, since before 1st September, 2020.

All entries must have been occupied for at least 6 months (that is: before 1st  October, 2021) and construction completed within the last 3 years to qualify for entry.


NOMINATION + PAYMENT OPENS: Monday 6 December, 2021 9am (AEST)

NOMINATION + PAYMENT CLOSES: Wednesday 16 March, 2022 5pm (AEST)

SUBMISSIONS OPEN:  Monday 6 December, 2021 9am  (AEST)

SUBMISSIONS CLOSE:   Friday 25 March, 2022 11pm  (AEST)


AWARDS ANNOUNCEMENT: Thursday 9 June at 7pm as part of the 2022 LEA Annual Conference Dinner in Adelaide, South Australia. 



  • Click the "REGISTER" button to nominate your project/s into the awards and complete the details.
  • A nomination fee of $400 AUD +GST per entry, will be charged.
  • Payment can be made by EFT or credit card (NZ & Singapore members please pay by credit card).

PAYMENT OR WITHDRAWAL: Must be received by 5pm Wednesday 16 March, 2022.

Projects withdrawn between nomination and submission closing will receive a 50% refund only. No refund will be available after the submission closing date on 25 March, 2021.


  • Upload your entry/ies to the Awards Portal from Monday 6 December, 2021 until Friday 25 March, 2022:   https://learningenvironments.awardsplatform.com/
  • If you have previously entered a project into any of the 2021 LE Chapter awards (VIC, SA, NSW & WA), you will be able to copy and edit your entry into the 2022 LEA awards. More details on how to do this are described on the Awardforce portal. 

Please download : 2022 LEA AWARDS Information for Entrants.pdf

This document will guide you through the submission process.

Note: the nomination and payment website (Learning Environments Australasia) is different & separate from the awards submission/entry website (Awardsforce/Awardsplatform). 

For any questions please contact: 

Soraya Ramsey

Awards Co-ordinator

+61 409 276 794


sponsored by:



2021 LEA Awards Joint Winner of Category 2: Albeus Fahey Building - Iona Presentation College (Western Australia) by EIW Architects in collaboration with NoTosh. Photo by: Frances Andrijich & Epigroup

© Learning Environments Australasia